Print

Upcoming Events

OMSA Elections – May 3, 2014

Be part of your Student Section Executive! All medical students are encouraged to apply for OMSA exec positions. The deadline to apply is May 1, 2014, with elections taking place May 3, 2014. No previous OMSA experience required. Information on how to apply.



The Student Section of the Ontario Medical Association

The Ontario Medical Students Association (OMSA) is the dedicated student voice of the OMA. They represent the views and concerns of the over 3,000 Ontario medical students on a number of issues.

Over the past few years, the OMSA has been very concerned about the decrease in medical school accessibility and the negative effects this will have on our healthcare system. Since 1998, OMSA has fought against tuition deregulation and has actively lobbied the provincial government to freeze tuition levels and increase government assistance to lower income students.

OMSA has appealed to their future colleagues as well. In 2000, the Ontario Medical Student Bursary Fund was established after executive members of OMSA recognized the need for more financial assistance programs. Students appealed to Council members of the Ontario Medical Association who responded by developing and contributing to this financial assistance program.

More recently, OMSA has also started working to make certain that all Ontario medical students are able to access postgraduate training positions in this province. While medical school enrolment has increased steadily in the last few years, residency positions have not kept pace. OMSA is committed to working toward ensuring that there are adequate postgraduate training positions in Ontario, and that these positions are appropriately distributed among the various disciplines so graduates are able to enter their disciplines of interest.

The Student Section of the OMA was officially founded during the Ontario Medical Association's AGM in May 1974 and started using the acronym "OMSA" in 2004. Students at each of the six Ontario medical schools (Western, McMaster, Toronto, Queens, Ottawa, and the Northern Ontario School of Medicine) elect two representatives to serve on the Student Section Executive for a two-year term. These representatives elect a Chair, Vice-Chair and Treasurer to serve for a one-year period.

  • What's in it for you?
  • Financial assistance
  • Training and Services
  • Keep up to date


 

For more information and initiatives of OMSA please visit www.omsa.ca (will open in a new tab)

Sign up for OMA and CMA membership for $22
from now to December 31, 2013, and get access to great benefits and resources for medical students. Click here to sign up!

Executive Committee

Co-Chair
University of Ottawa
Nahid Punjani
Nahid.punjani@uottawa.ca

Co-Chair
Western University
Rahul Sharma
Rsharma2014@meds.uwo.ca

Secretary/Treasurer
Queen's University
Marianne Stroz
mstroz@qmed.ca

Director of Communications
Western University
James Yan
Yan.jry@gmail.com

Director of Services
Queen's University
Soniya Sharma
ssharma@qmed.ca

Director of Representation
University of Ottawa

Jemy Joesph
Jemy.joseph@uottawa.ca

OMSA Representatives

McMaster University

Nicole Archer
nicole.archer@medportal.ca

Gordon Locke
gordon.locke@medportal.ca

Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Heather Smith
hesmith@nosm.ca

Kayla Berst
kberst@nosm.ca

University of Ottawa

Ambika Gupta
ambika.gupta@uottawa.ca

Anthea Girdwood
Anthea.girdwood@uottawa.ca

Queen’s University

Branden Deschambault
bdeschambault@qmed.ca

Alanna Fleet
afleet@qmed.ca

University of Toronto

Ali Damji
ali.damji@mail.utoronto.ca

Latif Murji
latif.murji@mail.utoronto.ca

Western University

James Ahlin
jahlin2016@meds.uwo.ca

Published on: 5/9/2010 9:35 AM
Printed on: 04/25/2014 04:01 AM
Dedicated to Doctors, Committed to Patients