About the Ontario Medical Foundation

The Ontario Medical Foundation is the charitable arm of the OMA.

The Ontario Medical Foundation is the charitable arm of the Ontario Medical Association. Established in 1967, the foundation was created to engage in charitable activities in the field of medicine.

Through the Ontario Medical Student Bursary Fund, the OMF had been largely focused on providing  bursaries to Ontario’s medical students in need over the past 20 years. 

With the significant transformation of the OMA and the medical profession, the foundation undertook to re-align and re-focus.

With a newly approved mandate and strategic plan, the foundation will advance its transformation to become a modern, well-managed and successful philanthropic organization. Learn more about the transformation.

Meet our board

A message from OMF’s President: Dr. David Esser shares the story behind the foundation and why he chose to be its president.

A board, made up of nine directors (five physicians, three non-physicians and one OMA Board rep), governs the foundation.

OMF Board of Directors

  • Dr. Alykhan Abdulla  
  • Dr. Sarah Bryson  
  • David Collie  
  • Janet Lambert 
  • Dr. Lisa Lefebvre 
  • Gilles LeVasseur 
  • Dr. Neil Maharaj 
  • Dr. Albert Ng 
  • Jo-Anne Sobie